Social – 5/8/14

Dancing for Safe Haven

Screen-shot-2014-05-06-at-5.11The 5th Annual Dancing for Safe Haven Family Shelter was held at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel and featured a dancing competition of local celebrities paired with professional dancers from Dance World.

Co-chairs were Vicki Yates and Darrell Freeman and celebrity dancers were Jerry Bostelman, Francis Guess, Rhori Johnston, Brenna Mader, Deborah Story, and Lari White.

Heather Byrd, Ted Clayton and Stacie Kinder served as judges and emcees were Kelly Sutton and Woody and Jim of 107.5 The River. Prizes were awarded to Lari White as the Judges’ Favorite, Deborah Story as Audience Favorite, and Jerry Bostelman for Online Favorite.

This year Safe Haven honored the life of Winifred W. McKenzie with the Hero Award, which recognizes a volunteer who has exhibited extraordinary leadership, vision and dedication.
Safe Haven’s mission is to empower homeless families with children to achieve lasting self-sufficiency.

For more information, visit, call 256-8195 or email


Hermitage Gala

Screen-shot-2014-05-06-at-5.14The Hermitage Gala, held at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center, was chaired by Carol Daniels and Deby Pitts.

The evening honored Martha Rivers Ingram, who was the recipient of the 2014 Jackson Award.

Actor Luke Perry portrayed President Andrew Jackson through a series of costumed historical readings of Jackson’s speeches. Perry is a long-time Jackson enthusiast and has become knowledgeable through his personal study of Jackson’s life and presidency.

Amos Gott designed the décor and Chef’s Market catered the party.

Honorary chairs were Sarah and Walter Knestrick and gala committee members included: Howard Kittell, Debby Patterson Koch, Deborah Lovett, Ashley McAnulty, Carrie Meredith, Jason Nelson, George Paine, Keith Pitts, Hayden Pruett, Sheryl Rogers, Karin Roland, Liz Schatzlein, Jim Seabury, Una Smith, and Price Wilson.