Metro Schools announce Teachers of the Year

metroPublicSchoolsIn the first of two celebrations for Nashville’s best educators, Metro Schools announced the 2014 Teachers and Principals of the Year on Monday, May 5. Many of the district’s top educators were honored at Lipscomb University with an elegant dinner and awards ceremony.

Out of 140 school-level Teachers of the Year, these three were chosen as the district-wide winners:

• Tanisha Wesby from Shwab Elementary School – Elementary School Teacher of the Year

• Kyle Alexander from Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School – Middle School Teacher of the Year

• Melissa Brooks – Hunters Lane High School – High School Teacher of the Year

Also honored at tonight’s dinner, the 2014 Principals of the year are:

• Lori Donahue from Granbery Elementary School – Elementary School Principal of the Year

• Dr. Antoinette Williams from Gra-Mar Middle Prep – Middle School Principal of the Year

• Dr. Steve Chauncy from Hillwood High School – High School Principal of the Year

Dr. Chauncy has led Hillwood High School since 2008 with a relentless focus on academic achievement. The graduation rate at Hillwood is the best among the district’s zoned high schools at 84%, and test scores have also made dramatic improvements. All three of Hillwood’s Academies are designated national models, and the school boasts 17 Advanced Placement classes. Dr. Chauncy was named “Academies of Nashville Principal of the Year” in 2012 and he is liked and respected by his students, faculty and parents.

“The Teacher of the Year program is a long-standing tradition in Metro Schools,” said Chief Human Capital Officer Susan Thompson. “These teachers have been held up by their peers as the best. That is significant not just because of the enormous respect they have for each other, but because it shows us what kinds of qualities they value in their schools.”

Teachers of the Year are nominated by their colleagues in the classroom, and finalists and district-wide winners are chosen by a committee of district administrators and educators. The program honors teachers and school leaders for the difference they make in students’ lives.

“Metro teachers are professionals who deserve our respect every day of the year,” said Director of Schools Dr. Jesse Register. “Teacher of the Year isn’t just a celebration of the 140 teachers at the event, it’s a way for us to honor all of the great educators who work so hard for Nashville’s families all year long and who are making Metro Schools the first choice for families.”

While Teacher of the Year is a district-led celebration of exceptional teachers, later this week the greater Nashville community will do the same with the announcement of the first class of Blue Ribbon Teachers. Community and education leaders not employed by Metro Schools selected the recipients through a blind review of more than 300 nominations from community members.